Page 1 of 1

Kakao down for maintenance

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:07 pm
by AlexBueno
Hi,

I just started to backup the server to reinstall it in the SSD. It'll still be accessible until the physical shutdown.

As you might have noticed, it's not updating since 25/06 7:30. I found out the problem already, but still no clue where to start to fix it. Actually I'm hoping that new installation will fix it! :)

Also, now I found out the first server problem that is the reason why it's at my home now. For some reason I absolutely don't know why, it get REALLY slow when connected to a gigabit network.

I found this out while connecting it to a gigabit switch instead of directly connected to my router to do the backup... Would be faster, of course... Now it'll take sometime. Hopefully it'll be fixed with fresh install. Otherwise I'll try an Intel NIC instead of this crappy Realtek.

Not that I actually need a gigabit network, even ISP only provides 20mbps and traffic is far below that, but since the server is hosted somewhere else for free, I don't wish to get them trouble always reminding I need a 100mbps port instead.

I'll take a shower now and pour some coffee hoping backup finish soon.

Keep you posted.

Re: Kakao down for maintenance

Posted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:46 pm
by AlexBueno
News on server rebuilding...

Took me tons of hours to backup everything at 100mbps. But it's done!

Even though I bought the MB last year, I just figured it out that it relies on SATA2 controller. I didn't notice at the time because the HDDs I was installing are SATA2. So... SSD won't be as fast as I was expecting, but probably much faster still. If you know a good and cheap enough SATA3 PCI-Express card, let me know!

I already installed OS again, BUT NIC problems are still there. Digging Google I found out it's an issue with Realtek firmware from long time. Solution seems to download firmware from Realtek website and compile it. Let's see if I still remember how to do it! :)

And at least but not last I got a call from one of my customers and need to travel for few days, screwing my weekend and server rebuilding. Hopefully during Brazil's game on Monday (02/07) I'll have time to continue the job.

Until that www.kakaostats.net will redirect to this post, and I'll keep updating here as things goes by.

Cya.

Re: Kakao down for maintenance

Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:18 pm
by AlexBueno
Whoa!

Took me some time to actually start working, but here I am!

Well the NIC issue isn't solved at all. Tried compiling the driver but did not work. After some hours googling and trying I gave up. This NIC must be connected to 100mbps network and that's it.

Script error is fixed. Just tried and it's working smoothly! I'll start to copy the database backup to the server!

Brb in some hours.

Re: Kakao down for maintenance

Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:20 pm
by AlexBueno
Just noticed that I backed up everything except the website itselt!

Let's hope old HDDs still work... :)

Re: Kakao down for maintenance

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:08 pm
by AlexBueno
Restoring backup currently!

I'll change DNS to point to server, website will come empty until restore is done!

Re: Kakao down for maintenance

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:46 pm
by AlexBueno
I'm back!

Database is currently imported and website is fully functional.

DNS is taking a while to update... :(

BUT... I just find out that I still got problems in importing scripts!

Starting troubleshooting now!

Re: Kakao down for maintenance

Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 1:03 pm
by AlexBueno
I finally figured it out the problem!

But now I messed up the server, I'll make a fresh install and bring it back to live ASAP.

Re: Kakao down for maintenance

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 2:13 pm
by AlexBueno
Hi!

I actually did not solved the problem in kakao. So... I decided to redevelop it from zero.

Why?

Well... Current system is running in a language and database I'm not used to. I'm not a developer/programmer what make things even more complicated to me.

When I put Kakao to run I imagined that someday this day would arrive, because of that I have more or less the whole thing in my mind. Now it's just a matter of time to make it work.

I started this week and database is halfway done. Which means backend is halfway done!

Features and layout will be almost the same, but I'm planning to create also a signature you could use in forums.

Come back later with more news.

BR.